Student Research Forum 2016

SRF video produced by Bobby Pitts.


The Student Research Forum exists to serve the students at the University of Kansas Medical Center, to advance their research and to bolster their professional development.  The forum provides a public stage for the presentation, assessment and discussion of their scientific investigations as well an opportunity to recognize and award exceptional research efforts.  The symposium will provide exposure to talks from world-class researchers and promote interdisciplinary collaboration between fields, departments, professional schools and universities to foster high quality, innovative research that will transform our present scientific understanding and ultimately improve the lives of people in the state of Kansas and throughout the world.

Each year the Graduate Student Council sponsors the Student Research Forum (SRF). A three-day interactive event, this year's SRF will be held on March 25-27, 2015. It will showcase research conducted by students from the schools of medicine, nursing, health professionals, and graduate studies on Wednesday, March 25, 2015. In addition to the student presentations, the SRF features a banquet (March 26, 2015) and the extremely popular A.L Chapman Keynote Research Lecture scheduled on Friday, March 27, 2015 focused on the professional development of attendees.

SRF Save the Date 2015

Questions or Comments can be e-mailed to

Submission of your abstract for either an Oral or Poster presentation will be submitted online see Student Registration and Abstracts.

A.L. Chapman

 A.L. Chapman Keynote Research Lecture

The A.L. Chapman Lecture series was created in honor of A.L. Chapman, Professor Emeritus of Anatomy & Cell Biology and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Emeritus.


The honorary speaker for the 2015 A.L. Chapman Keynote Research Lecture will be Dr. Martin Chalfie, Ph.D., a University Professor and former chair of the Department of Biological Sciences at Columbia University.  In 2008 he shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Osamu Shimomura and Roger Y. Tsien for his introduction of Green Fluorescent Protein (GFP) as a biological marker.

Dr. Chalfie was born in Chicago, Illinois, obtained both his A.B. and Ph.D. from Harvard University, and then did postdoctoral research with Sydney Brenner at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, England. He joined the faculty of Columbia University as an Assistant Professor in 1982 and has been there ever since.

He uses the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans to investigate nerve cell development and function, concentrating primarily on genes affecting mechanosensory neuronsHis research has been directed toward answering two quite different biological questions:  How do different types of nerve cells acquire and maintain their unique characteristics? and How do sensory cells respond to mechanical signals?

Dr. Chalfie is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  He shared the 2006 Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Science from Brandeis University and the 2008 E. B. Wilson Medal from the American Society for Cell Biology with Roger Tsien.  He has just completed his term as the president of the Society for Developmental Biology.

Last modified: Jul 15, 2015